Friday, August 23, 2013

USDA Announces Renewal of Agriculture Air Quality Task Force

On August 21, 2013, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the renewal of USDA’s Agriculture Air Quality Task Force (AAQTF). 

Established under the Federal Agriculture Improvement and Reform Act of 1996 to provide recommendations to the secretary of Agriculture on agriculture air quality issues, AAQTF is composed of representatives from academia, agribusiness, regulatory organizations, environmental organizations, health disciplines, special government employees (SGEs), and others.  AAQTF representatives are selected by USDA and serve two year terms. 

Among the named 2013-2015 AAQTF representatives is Pennsylvania State University professor Eileen Wheeler.  Professor Wheeler currently teaches agricultural and biological engineering in Penn State’s College of Agricultural Sciences and has served as a member of AAQTF since 2008. 

For more information regarding AAQTF, please see USDA’s Agricultural Air Quality Task Force Website.  

For more information regarding Eileen Wheeler, please see The Penn State University Agriculture and Biological Engineering Website.

Written by M. Sean High – Research Fellow
The Pennsylvania State University Agricultural Law Resource and Reference Center
August 23, 2013

No comments:

Post a Comment